AG Slatery co-leads bipartisan coalition calling on FDA to regulate e-cigarettes and oral nicotine products


Tennessee Attorney General Herbert H. Slatery III co-leads panel of thirty-one states, US territories, and jurisdictions urging US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to end addiction surge nicotine in young people. Specifically, the bipartisan coalition calls on the FDA to use its regulatory power to eliminate flavors appealing to young people, limit nicotine levels in e-cigarettes and oral nicotine products such as sachets, gums and lozenges. , and restrict the marketing of these products. The FDA is responsible for deciding whether to allow products to remain on the market via pre-market tobacco product applications (PMTAs) filed for each product, and these proposed measures would deny approval of any product that would make it worse. nicotine epidemic among young Americans.

“Flavored nicotine products attract children to dangerous, addictive products that only compromise their health,” General Slatery said. “Tennessee has taken important steps to protect our children by banning non-flavored vapor-based tobacco products and limiting the sale of e-cigarettes, but the FDA must also do its part to curb the nicotine epidemic among children. youth. The health and well-being of our children is our top priority, and that calls for a federal solution. “

E-cigarette use among high school students has increased significantly, from just 1.5% in 2011 to 11.7% in 2017 and then to 27.5% in 2019. Data for 2020 shows that 19.6% of high school students have used an e-cigarette in the past 30 days, 38.9% of people reporting using e-cigarettes for 20 days or more in the past 30 days, and 22.5% reporting daily use. Additionally, oral nicotine products (especially sachets) are fast becoming the fastest growing nicotine category in convenience stores, growing by around 500%. It is estimated that 13% of people aged 15 to 24 have used oral nicotine products in the past 30 days.

E-cigarettes and oral nicotine products have not received market authorization from the FDA, as required by federal law. Companies like JUUL are vigorously marketing flavored nicotine products, largely without regulatory oversight, leading to what former US surgeon general Jerome Adams called a “nicotine epidemic among young people.” In its letter to the FDA, the coalition argues that the FDA must tackle the epidemic by imposing restrictions and age verification on traditional and digital marketing tactics aimed at young people.

Additionally, the coalition maintains that the FDA should limit the amount of nicotine in e-cigarettes and oral nicotine products, which are at their highest levels to date. Nicotine has particularly harmful effects on brain development, with young people being much more likely to become addicted than adults. High nicotine consumption in young people is also associated with many adverse physical effects such as nicotine poisoning and toxicity, as well as mental health and behavior issues such as major depressive disorder, school problems. and dependence on other substances.

Finally, the coalition argues that a ban on candy, mint, fruit and menthol flavors is key to removing the product’s appeal to young consumers. Over 80 percent of young people who use e-cigarettes choose flavors other than tobacco. Although the FDA has announced that it will prioritize its enforcement against electronic cigarettes made from flavored cartridges (excluding menthol and tobacco flavors), sales of menthol flavored electronic cigarettes have jumped 54 , 5% market share in the four weeks following FDA guidelines in April 2020, and 82.8% over eight weeks, indicating its popularity among young people.

The FDA is expected to decide whether electronic cigarettes and oral nicotine products should be allowed to remain on the market from September 9, 2021. Coalition urges FDA to deny all PMTAs for products containing high levels of nicotine and for products containing menthol or other flavors.

To read the letter, click here:

The Attorneys General of Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, from Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Brunswick join Attorney General Slatery in sending the letter. Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, Washington and Wisconsin.

Source: TN.GOV


Comments are closed.