Cuba HS student receives national award for his work with the Tobacco Free Kids Campaign


WASHINGTON, DC — Adrianna Casaus, a high school student in Cuba, was named National Youth Advocate of the Year by the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids on May 5.

Adrian Casaus. (Courtesy picture)

Campaign for tobacco-free children is an advocacy organization that works to reduce tobacco use among students.

The organization works with leaders in the United States at local, state, and national levels, as well as in low- and middle-income countries.

Casaus became involved in tobacco control during her freshman year of high school after noticing the widespread use of e-cigarettes among her peers and witnessing the effects of tobacco use on the health of her family. grandfather.

She also worked with New Mexico lawmakers to advocate for the Tobacco Products Act, a new law that raised the age for selling tobacco to 21 and requires retailers to obtain a license to sell. tobacco products. Adrianna recently worked to advocate for a state tobacco tax increase.

“We are thrilled to honor Adrianna Casaus as National Youth Advocate of the Year,” said Matthew L. Myers, President of the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids. “Seeing firsthand the impact of smoking on her peers and family, Adrianna has become a strong advocate for the health of her peers and her community. She embodies the qualities of a new generation of leaders who are standing up to the tobacco industry and fighting with us for a healthier and fairer future.

Each year, the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids honors one National Youth Advocate of the Year, four Individual Youth Advocates of the Year and one Group Youth Advocate of the Year. Winners receive scholarships to continue their tobacco prevention efforts and serve as youth ambassadors for the organization.

In New Mexico, tobacco use kills 2,600 people each year and costs $844 million in health care bills each year. Currently, 8.9% of New Mexico high school students smoke cigarettes and 34% use electronic cigarettes.

For more information on the winners, visit


Comments are closed.