Oregon’s New Retail Tobacco Law Helps Prevent Youth Tobacco Use | Local news

0


Effective January 1, 2022, retailers in Oregon must have a tobacco retail license to sell commercial tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems (IDS, also known as “electronic cigarettes Or “vape”), in accordance with Senate Bill 587. The New Tobacco Retail Licensing Act allows the state to more accurately track where tobacco is sold and ensure that companies follow tobacco laws, including not selling to people under 21 years old.

“Almost 90% of people who use tobacco start before the age of 18. As such, this law protects the health of young people today and reduces the likelihood of them becoming addicted to nicotine, ”said Marlene Putman, administrator of Tillamook County Community Health Centers. “One in six tobacco retailers inspected in 2019 illegally sold tobacco to people under the age of 21. For flavored products, which are most popular with children, it was one in five. This law is an important step in stopping these sales.

The tobacco industry spends more than $ 100 million a year on marketing in Oregon, including products and promotions designed to appeal to young people. Retail tobacco licenses have been shown in other states to reduce tobacco sales and consumption by young people, thereby curbing industry tactics. (Oregon was previously one of seven states that did not require a tobacco retail license.)

Retailers can obtain an annual license for $ 953 from the Department of Revenue at go.usa.govxe999. The fees are fully used to cover the costs of managing the authorization program and conducting inspections; no other income is generated.

There are three exceptions to the law: Retailers operating on tribal lands are exempt. Retailers authorized by the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission or the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program to sell nicotine-free inhalant delivery systems are also exempt. Retailers in most counties that already had their own tobacco retail licensing program will continue to follow county, not state, licensing. To see the Statewide Tobacco Retail License website for details: go.usa.gov/xe999.

During the first six months of the law coming into force (January 1 to June 30, 2022), the Oregon Health Authority and local public health authorities will conduct outreach to help retailers access educational materials and comply with tobacco laws. Free resources for retailers are available at www.healthoregon.org/tobaccoretailsales.

The law includes real consequences for retailers who break the law, such as fines and / or loss of license. As of January 1, 2022, the Ministry of Revenue will start checking whether retailers have a license and will impose penalties if they don’t. Public health inspections – and associated penalties – aim to ensure that retailers comply with tobacco laws from July 1, 2022.

The law is designed to make enforcement fair for retailers and communities. Public health specialists, not law enforcement, will carry out inspections, following the advice of racial equity organizations to ensure they are not overdoing it in communities of color and other communities. targeted by the tobacco industry. The law also eliminates penalties for the purchase, consumption and possession of tobacco products by young people, which will help reduce interactions between young people of color and the police, and hold those who sell tobacco illegally accountable, and no young people.

For adults who buy tobacco products, there will be no difference in the sales process. This law does not affect the price of tobacco products.

People who see or see a retailer selling tobacco products without a license or to someone under the age of 21 can report it to [email protected] or 971-673-0984.

About Tillamook County Community Health Centers

The TCCHC has been a federally accredited health center since 1994, providing medical, dental, behavioral and public health services. Please visit our website at https://tillamookchc.org/ and our Facebook at TillamookCHC.


Share.

Comments are closed.